Be your own damn Valentine!

Standard

I don’t like Valentine’s day, but I’m not going to rant and rage about it.  I don’t think there is anything wrong with having a day where we encourage people to show their love for each other.  But why can’t that day be every day?  And why does that encouragement come at a huge commercial mark up?  And why does it have to encourage cheap and frilly and shiny balloons and flowers and bears and all that crap?

Yet I said I would not rage.

But doesn’t it just reinforce ridiculous ideas about what love is?  What romance is?  Hell, I don’t know what love is, but if it’s a dozen roses, a box of chocolates and a fancy dinner – I’d prefer to remain unloved.

I’m going to stop myself, you’re welcome.  There is more I’d like to say but let me just say this:  I hope this Valentine’s Day treats you well.  If you want chocolate, I hope you get it.  If you want flowers, I hope you get them.  If you want love, I hope you get it – but the best way to get it, as you know, is to give it, and most importantly to love yourself.  But you knew that.  You knew that love from another person is a great and priceless thing but it can not replace the love you don’t have for yourself.  So love yourself such that you can be loved.  Be your own damned Valentine is what I’m trying to say here.

And read this blog post my talented friend wrote.  It may teach you something:

http://shop.bodyandsoulrestorations.com/blogs/news/2702202-a-valentines-day-history-lesson

One thought on “Be your own damn Valentine!

Leave a Reply

